Press Release • April 21, 2022

Equality NC PAC Releases Endorsements

For immediate release

Shoshanna Carroll | Equality NC || 919-213-1451

Nate Fischer | Equality NC |

Raleigh – On Thursday, April 21, Equality North Carolina PAC released the second round of their 2022 endorsements for political races across the state of North Carolina. This first batch of endorsements included candidates running for the NC General Assembly, the judiciary, and for federal office, among many others. The second batch of endorsements continues with candidates running for municipal offices, boards of education, and federal and state offices.

This morning, Kendra R. Johnson, Executive Director of Equality North Carolina, released the following statement:

"North Carolina and the nation continue to see a rise in anti-LGBTQ+ narratives being brought forth, and worsening anti-trans bills and medical bans. With this second batch of endorsements we are showing our dedication to intersectional pro-equality legislators. We believe in a better North Carolina for all of us, one that centers marginalized voices and experiences and addresses systemic injustices with healing and equity. We believe that the politicians we have endorsed across our slate are the most well-equipped to partner and collaborate beyond performative allyship and toward equitable actions to stop the spread of the dangerous agenda targeting our most marginalized and underrepresented communities and toward a North Carolina and nation that is equal for all."

See the list of our newly Endorsed Candidates below.

US Senate

Cheri Beasley

US House

Alma Adams

Nida Allam

Jasmine Beach-Ferrara

Wiley Nickel

Sam Searcy

NC Senate

Kandie Smith

NC House

Kimberly Hardy


Justin Outling (Greensboro)

Kim Roney (Asheville)

County Commissioner

Vickie Adamson (Wake, District 7)

Leigh Altman (Mecklenburg, At-Large)

Matt Calabria (Wake, District 2)

Pat Cotham (Mecklenburg, At-Large)

Amanda Edwards (Buncombe, District 1)

Arthur Griffin (Mecklenburg, At-Large)

Mark Jerrell (Mecklenburg, District 5)

Lisa Mead (Wake, District 3)

Susan Rodriguez McDowell (Mecklenburg, District 6)

Martin Moore (Buncombe, District 2)

Anthony Pierce (Alamance)

Laura Meier (Mecklenburg, District 5)

Donald Mial (Wake, District 1)

Jennifer de la Jara (Mecklenburg, At-Large)

City Council

Dimple Ajmera (Charlotte, At-Large)

Larken Egleston (Charlotte, at-large)

Franca Jalloh (Greensboro At-Large)

Renee' Johnson (Charlotte, District 4)

Carissa Kohn-Johnson (Cary, At-large)

LaWana Mayfield (Charlotte, at-large)

Liz Millsaps Haigler (Charlotte, District 5)

Antanette Mosley (Asheville)

Amanda Murphy (Cary, District C)

Tammi Thurm (Greensboro, District 5)

Nina Tovish (Asheville)

Braxton Winston (Charlotte, At-large)

Board of Education

Natalie Beyer (Durham)

Millicent Rogers (Durham)

Sarah Smylie (Orange)

Ashley Wheeler (Orange)

District Court

Kevin Jones (Durham)

Dave Hall (Durham)

District Attorney

Satana Deberry (Durham)

Clerk of Court

Archie Smith (Durham)

# # #

Equality North Carolina builds LGBTQ+ power through advocacy, education, and uplifting the stories of queer and trans North Carolinians in pursuit of racial and social justice.

# # #

Recent Press Releases