Press Release • August 31, 2023

Equality NC PAC releases Second Round of Municipal Endorsements

For Immediate Release

Nate Fischer | Equality NC |

RALEIGH – Today, Equality NC PAC released its second round of endorsements for the 2023 municipal elections. We're so pleased with this batch of progressive, inclusive candidates. There are additional endorsements to be rolled out soon.

The endorsed candidates are:

Terry Mahaffey, Apex Town Council

Arno Zegerman, Apex Town Council

Todd Dulaney, Asheboro City School Board

Beth Kennett, Burlington Mayor

Lori Bush, Cary Town Council (at-large)

Michelle Craig, Cary Town Council (District B)

Rachel Jordan, Cary Town Council (District D)

Amy Ryan, Chapel Hill Town Council

Erik Valera, Chapel Hill Town Council

Melissa McCullough, Chapel Hill Town Council

Theodore Nollert, Chapel Hill Town Council

Barbara Fedders, Chapel Hill-Carrboro School Board

Rani Dasi, Chapel Hill-Carrboro School Board

Meredith Ballew, Chapel Hill-Carrboro School Board

Dimple Ajmera, Charlotte City Council

LaWana Slack-Mayfield, Charlotte City Council

Malcolm Graham, Charlotte City Council

Stephanie Hand, Charlotte City Council

Monty Witherspoon, Charlotte-Mecklenburg School Board

Javiera Caballero, Durham City Council

Sherri Zann Rosenthal, Durham City Council

Khalilah Karim, Durham City Council

Leonardo Williams, Durham Mayor

Jack Turnwald, Holly Springs Town Council

Annie Drees, Holly Springs Town Council

Alisia Bergsman, Huntersville Board of Commissioners

Amanda Dumas, Huntersville Board of Commissioners

Equality NC also has a member of staff, Eliazar Posada, running for Carrboro Town Council race, so to avoid conflicts of interest ENC PAC is not endorsing anyone for Carrboro Town Council.

# # #

Equality North Carolina builds LGBTQ+ power through advocacy, education, and uplifting the stories of queer and trans North Carolinians in pursuit of racial and social justice.

# # #

Recent Press Releases